Home --» General information about Bulgaria

General information about Bulgaria


Republic of Bulgaria is a state in south-eastern Europe. It is located in the eastern half of the Balkan Peninsula. It is bordered as follows: on east by the Black See, on south by Greece and Turkey, on west by Serbia and Republic Macedonia and on north by Rumania (though the Danube River). The total state border length is 2.245 km, including 1.181 km land border, 686 km river banks and 378 km seaside.

State Government

Bulgaria is Parliament Republic. The National Assembly (Bulgarian one-chamber Parliament) consists of 240 Parliament Members, elected for 4-year term. Voting is carried out for lists of party or coalition contestants for every one of the 31 multiple-seat election regions. Eligible to enter the Parliament is any political party winning at least 4 % of total votes.

The Parliament deals with passing acts, passing state budget, setting date for presidential elections, electing Prime Minister and other Ministers, declaring war, stationing military troops outside Bulgaria and ratifying international contracts and agreements.

The President of Republic of Bulgaria is elected for 5-year term and can be reelected once. The President is Head of State, Supreme Commander-in-Chief of Armed Forces and President of National Security Consulting Council. Although the President is not entitled to pass or initiate acts, the President is entitled to return a draft act for reconsideration, while the Parliament can reject such President's veto through ordinary majority of votes. President's work is supported by a Deputy President.

Since January 1, 2007 Bulgaria is European Union full Member-state.

Population As per 2001 census, 83,9 % of the state population consist of Bulgarians. Yet there are two large ethnic minority groups - Turkish (9,4 %) and Roma (4,7 %). The remaining 2 % consist of smaller ethnic minority groups such as Armenians, Russians, Rumanians, Ukrainians, Greeks and Jews. 84,8 % of the population speak Bulgarian language, which is official state language.

The vast majority of Bulgarian citizens belong to Christian religion and split as follows: 82,6 % Eastern Orthodox, 1,7 % Roman Catholics and 1,6 % Protestants. Another 12,2 % of the population belong to Islam (mainly ethnic Turks) and 0,8 % to Judaism.


In terms of administration Bulgaria is split into 28 districts. All they are named after their district center town and the state capital is a separate district.